7 Countries Creating Cross-Border Privacy Standards


The group will also focus on issues such as interoperability and data flow, as well as periodically reviewing local standards.

The United States is partnering with six other nations to create privacy and cybersecurity standards that cross borders in a new era of cooperation for data governance. The group plans to create a new international certification system for private businesses and organizations based on privacy protection standards created by Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC).

As data grows and cybersecurity threats multiply, governments are scrambling to create guides and standards to stem the misuse—accidental or otherwise—of the world’s data. Companies would be able to demonstrate their compliance with standards as they operate across borders. The nations acknowledge local differences in handling and approaching privacy but hope to come to an accord on shared privacy values.

The group will also focus on issues such as interoperability and data flow, as well as periodically reviewing local standards to ensure they follow the original APEC recommendations.

See also: Data Privacy as a Competitive Advantage

More partners in privacy could soon follow

The United States joins Canada, Japan, Singapore, the Philippines, Taiwan, and South Korea as full voting members. In principle, the group is open to other members and will decide among the original six nations to welcome any new members into the group.

Data is a valuable asset for companies and organizations, especially where operations must happen across multiple borders. In addition, global eCommerce also requires an understanding of complex local and district-level privacy laws. Developing an international standard for cybersecurity and privacy has the potential to ease trade challenges and promote global cooperation. Such standards would aid companies doing business globally.

Country representatives will meet twice a year in person or virtually to tackle goals and determine what challenges future projects will address. Once the group settles on standards, countries already certified through the original APEC standards will have their credentials grandfathered in until further notice.

Elizabeth Wallace

About Elizabeth Wallace

Elizabeth Wallace is a Nashville-based freelance writer with a soft spot for data science and AI and a background in linguistics. She spent 13 years teaching language in higher ed and now helps startups and other organizations explain - clearly - what it is they do.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *