Arm Releases New Security Certifications for IoT Devices


The new multilevel hardware-based security certification for IoT devices is called PSA Certified.

Following the announcement of its Neoverse E1 and N1 platforms, Arm has released a new multi level hardware-based security certification for IoT devices. IoT security has made headlines for the wrong reasons, as manufactures make devices with gaping vulnerabilities. These “holes” prove irresistible to cyberattackers using IoT device powered botnets to hack vulnerable devices.

In 2018, device-targeted malware attacks increased over 300% and caused trillions of dollars of damage. In 2017, the company introduced Platform Secure Architecture. Now they’re launching PSA Certified, a brand-new certification layer for IoT devices.

See also: 4 predictions on blockchain and the “cyber arms race”

Shoring Up & Simplifying Security

To meet its goal of simplifying the security process and grant developers independent authority to validate their apps, Arm will provide simple frameworks and resources that encourage safer device development.

PSA provided a framework that standardized secure IoT device design. It gives global independent security testing labs an opportunity to evaluate the implementation of these principles.

PSA Certified includes two elements, an API test suite and a multi-level security strength scheme. Brightsight, CAICT, Prove & Run, Riscure, and UL have partnered with Arm to establish testing protocols. These third-party, lab-based evaluations independently check IoT platform elements including:

  • Real-time OS
  • The device itself
  • The PSA Root of Trust (integrity and confidentiality source)

Users assign three levels of security assurance based on an analysis of threat vectors. After testing, PSA Certified devices receive electronically signed report cards that assign/ recommend appropriate security levels. This information will help businesses with decision making and risk management.

“This will enable trust in individual devices, in their data, and in the deployment of these devices at scale in IoT services, as we drive towards a world of a trillion connected devices,” says Paul Williamson, VP and GM of Arm’s Emerging Businesses Group.

So far Cypress, Express Logic, Microchip, Nordic Semiconductor, Nuvoton, NXP, STMicroelectronics and Silicon Labs have all achieved Level 1 certification. To find out more about PSA Certified and the multiple independent test labs available, please visit:

Sue Walsh

About Sue Walsh

Sue Walsh is News Writer for RTInsights, and a freelance writer and social media manager living in New York City. Her specialties include tech, security and e-commerce. You can follow her on Twitter at @girlfridaygeek.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *